You are here: Home
Funded by


Wir trauern um Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Uwe-Karsten Hanisch

Concept & Aims

The major aim of the Brain Macrophage Research Unit is the coordinated investigation of the functional, spatial, temporal and developmental diversity of myeloid cells in the central
nervous system (CNS). The brain hosts a heterogenous population of myeloid cells, including microglia, perivascular cells, meningeal macrophages and disease-associated blood-borne monocytes. In contrast to other glial cells, brain macrophages are more related
to the peripheral immune system than to the neuroectoderm. Thus far, the different types of brain macrophages have been discriminated solely on the basis of their localization, morphology and surface epitope expression. However, recent data suggest that resident microglia may be functionally distinct from bone marrow-derived macrophages, which invade the CNS under pathological conditions. During the last few years, research on brain macrophages has been dramatically changed by the advent of novel tools in imaging, genetics and immunology, in particular transgenic mouse models. These new methodologies have yielded unexpected results, which challenge the traditional view of brain macrophages. Based on these recent studies, performed in part by members of this Research Unit 1336, we intend to explore the conditions that influence brain macrophage subtypes with regard to their origin, function and fate within the CNS.

The Brain Macrophages – Consortium


Marco Prinz
Department for Neuropathology
University of Freiburg

Josef Priller
Neuropsychiatry and Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry
Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin


Uwe-Karsten Hanisch
Institute of Neuropathology
University of Göttingen

Harald Neumann
Institute of Reconstructive Neurobiology
University Bonn Hospital

Frank Rosenbauer / Martin Dugas
Department of Molecular Stem Cell Biology
University of Münster

Steffen Jung
Department of Immunology
The Weizmann Institute of Science

Francesca Odoardi / Alexander Flügel
Institute for Multiple-Sclerosis Research
University of Göttingen

Ingo Bechmann
Institut für Anatomie
University of Leipzig

Knut Biber / Melanie Meyer-Luehmann
Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy
Department of Neurology                                                                 University of Freiburg

Marco Prinz
Department of Neuropathology
University of Freiburg

Ari Waisman / Simone Wörtge
Institute for Molecular Medicine
University Medical Center of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

Josef Priller / Chotima Böttcher
Neuropsychiatry and Laboratory of Molecular Psychiatry
Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Administrative Office

Sylvia Blust-Maciej
Department of Neuropathology
University of Freiburg


Print | Send | Top